White Chocolate Peanut Butter Stuffed Sugar Cookies

As delicious as sugar cookies are, rolling them out, shaping them and decorating them can be quite tedious. So this time I decided I needed to do something different with my sugar cookies. I love peanut butter and white chocolate. So I decided to use a white chocolate Milka bar I had hanging around and some peanut butter. What could be better?

20141116_20

Stuffing sugar cookies saves having to roll out the dough, although I did still chill the dough before stuffing them. Be sure that the stuffing is fully surrounded by dough before you bake them, or you will end up with puddles of melted candy and an empty sugar cookie.

20141116_21

To decorate my cookies I used the colored sugar I made in my post, Colored Sugar – Make Your Own. I sprinkled it on before I baked them.

20141116_43

Grandma Johnson’s Sugar Cookies

  • 3/4 cup shortening
  • 3/4 cup butter, softened
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 4 eggs
  • 5 cups flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tsp salt
  • peanut butter
  • Milka white chocolate bar

Cream together the shortening, butter and sugar. Add vanilla, then add in the eggs one at a time until all are incorporated.  In a separate bowl mix together the flour, baking powder and salt. Slowly add the dry ingredients to the creamed mixture until combined. Chill for at least one hour.

Preheat the oven to 400.

Once chilled, scoop into balls and stuff with one square of white chocolate and a teaspoon of peanut butter. Roll in colored sugar and transfer to a baking sheet lined with a silicone baking mat or parchment paper. Bake for 6 – 8 minutes or until lightly browned along the edges.

20141116_60

Leave a comment